Oswald

oswald

Whenever I had watched the Oswald tv cartoon series I used to feel the fragmentation of attention taking place in the positive sense – moving from the chaos to a place of complete understanding and absolute clarity. The colors the speech and the pace just completely went inside my attention. It was like living in a perfection. That made me curious about the person who had worked on this series – what really inspired him and triggered this which had strong undercurrents of healing energy inside it – should be someone in a completely different world altogether… on reading one of his interviews I found what I had suspected all along ;). Excerpts from his interview:

Q:What sound or noise do you love?

Dan: When I’m up in my studio and hear my kids coming home from school. I always come downstairs for hugs and an afternoon snack. Seeing their father when they get home from school is probably not a big deal for them (because it’s the way it’s always been), but I know lots of kids who don’t get to see their parents until well after they’ve eaten dinner. I’m very fortunate to see my children as much as I do and sometimes want them to stay the age they are right now forever, but—as usual—they disobey me and get bigger all the time.

Q: What profession other than your own would you like to attempt?
Dan: None. Not only would I be totally incapable of doing anything other than exactly what I do, but I really have absolutely no interest in anything else. I know it sounds kind of crazy, but that’s the truth.

Q: Do you listen to music while you create books?
Dan: Yes! I listen to music when I paint, much to the dismay of my family, because I’ll listen to the same artist or CD over and over for months. I’m a huge fan of Brian Wilson and The Beach Boys. I also listen to The Polyphonic Spree, probably for the same reason; it’s really joyful, uplifting, and spiritual music. Painting is meditation for me. It calms me down.
It’s also great for me because, unlike producing a TV series or working on a feature film, it’s only me.

Read more about Dan Yaccarino and his illustrations here

Published in: on November 5, 2009 at 9:45 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://cshivani.wordpress.com/2009/11/05/oswald/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

